Tools
2004 Holiday Movie Reviews
Reviews of Kinsey
Average Rating:
Number of Reviews: 9
Show:
Displaying 1-9 of 9 total reviews

Kinsey

This film was amazing. It feels like you are inside the mind of a scientist. All questions have an answer and all problems have a solution, if you gather the data and analyze it. To look at sex in that way was revolutionary, and yet so obvious. I saw this film in the middle of the day with perhaps a dozen other movie goers and there were a surprising number of laughs from the audience. I would highly recommend it.

Reviewer: Jane Young of Marine on St Croix, MN (December 25, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Kinsey

I thought the movie was thoughtfully and tastefully presented. It held my attention throughout.

Reviewer: Ellen Wolfson of Minneapolis, MN (December 10, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Kinsey

Good performances; the script is not bad. I don't think Kinsey is that interesting, even as an odd ball. If I don't care much about the lead character it detracts from the movie.

Reviewer: Jeff Peterson of Minneapolis, MN (December 10, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Polar Express

I saw this movie at the Imax Theater at the Minnesota Zoo. I can't imagine seeing it any other way after seeing it there! The sound effects and visuals were awesome. I brought my 11 and 17 year olds and my 77 year old mother and they all loved it as well! I would definitely recommend seeing it at the Imax!

Reviewer: Peggy Johnson of Farmington, MN (December 9, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Another compacted biopic

Without begrudging the acting talents of Liam Neeson, Laura Linney, or the always fabulous Peter Saarsgard, I'm tired of watching biopics in which a person's whole life is compressed into a 2 hour story on the meaning of life/love/eternal happiness. One of the reasons that the director's previous "Gods and Monsters" worked was that it explored a person's life in the context of a single relationship, rather than letting the subject be overwhelmed by a long series of events and relationships.

The movie is at times, however, hilarious, engrossing, and moving. A better choice than much of what is out right now.

Reviewer: Andrea Yevuta of St. Paul, MN (December 9, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Kinsey

Liam Neeson playing Kinsey puts in a strong but predictable perfromance in the title role. The film plods along the lines of predictable writing conventions of the genre. Nothing is left to surprise or provide a particularly deep insight into the man or his times. While the writer/director Bill Condon might think Kinsey is shocking, this film portrait is rather chastened and meager with the emotional range and treatment of the subject. Laura Linney starts off in her potrayal of Mac, Kinsey's wife, with a lot of potential but then quickly falls into the "stand by your man" stereotypes of the tormented wife reigning in the contradictions of mad genius men. Kinsey should serve as an example to screenwriters endeaveouring to write a bio-pic to avoid the hackneyed conventions this film falls prey to.

Reviewer: Robb Mitchell of Minneapolis, MN (December 5, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Excellent biopic about the sex scientist

In this biopic of Alfred Kinsey, Liam Neeson portrays the man as a very frank scientist, one who clearly enjoys what he is doing, but not from a sexual point of view, but a scientific one. His whole feeling of satisfaction and reason for existence is based on being able to advance humankind.

In his youth, he wanted to study insects and that passion carried over into college and teaching. Over his life he would collect over one million wasps of a peculiar kind. While professing at Indiana University, he meets Clara (Laura Linney), who would later marry him and was probably the only sexual being he ever truly loved. Both of their first experiences were with each other after they got married, and it didn't go so well. They have things checked out with a doctor and discover that Alfred has an unusually large penis. From that point on, they have a relatively exuberant and anomalous relationship.

"The Sexual History of the Human Male" sells phenomenally well, but when he releases the female follow-up, he is greeted with mass criticism. His wife explains to him, "You're telling men that their grandmothers and daughters masturbate what would you expect?" his reply is, "A little respect!" Kinsey never got any.

Alfred Kinsey?s research for science as a portrayed in this film was a giant leap for mankind? Liam Neeson?s performance is perhaps the best of the year, and the film works because of it. It is a straight story that is very personal

Reviewer: Cameron Slick of St. Paul, MN (December 5, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

SEX AND THE PITY

I'm certainly not such a prude
as to label this movie too crude.
My only complaint
would be that it ain't
explicit enough ~ get me, dude?

Reviewer: tim torkildson of minneapolis, MN (November 29, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

What great acting!

But you need more than great acting. Okay, this IS more than your run-of-the-mill bio pic. While Alfred Kinsey's life is condensed - they keep a few spicy parts - but never seemed to get to the truth about his life. How did a man so devoted to science veer so far (really far)from the scientific method? They never really explain and the filmmakers don't seem to think they need to. A little baffling.

I would almost say the film is worth it to see Vanessa Redgrave's cameo. The movie would have been more interesting if they followed her character's life while tracing Kinsey's.

Stephanie Curtis is MPR's Movie Maven. Read Stephanie's notebook!

Reviewer: Stephanie Curtis of St. Paul, MN (November 23, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Document Return to the 2004 Holiday Movie Reviews page