Tools
2004 Holiday Movie Reviews
Reviews of Ray
Average Rating:
Number of Reviews: 10
Show:
Displaying 1-10 of 10 total reviews

Rays' legend lives on in this most respectful filmatic treat

Musically rich and easy to follow, the early days of real soul and even country are revealed here. Ray was no saint in this film or in real life yet the overall impression is of a man trying to reach farther.

Only two detractors in my eyes. The piano playing on screen could have been closer to what was heard and a double-deck freight container rail car appeared in what was supposed to be scene from the 1940s.

Over all a great feeling movie.

Reviewer: Jim Steinworth of St. Paul, MN (December 14, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Jamie is Ray

Jamie Fox gives a performance that captures the essence of Ray Charles. Consumate musician/singer, accountant sharp businessman, yet human with human weaknesses and failings.

Fox inhabits Charles' body and soul. A performance of a lifetime. Very difficult competition for any challengers.

Highly recommended viewing for anyone who loves film and music.

Reviewer: LAWRENCE Renko of White Bear Lake, MN (December 13, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

"Ray" is far more than I expected

Jaymie Foxx does an unbelievable job in portraying Ray Charles. He literally inhabits the man, doing much more than an impression - he becomes Ray Charles. The movie was long - but I had no idea I was sitting as long as I was - the story completely overwhelmed me. The supporting cast was outstanding as well, most notably the young actor who portrayed Charles as a boy, along with Regina King as Charles' mistress. All in all, a thoroughly fine film.

Reviewer: Greg Mastel of Fridley, MN (December 10, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Ray

I thought the movie Ray was wonderful.. I learned new facts about an interesting man. Even though it was a long movie the time flew by. Verygood acting and delightful music.

Reviewer: Irma Wall of Plymouth, MN (December 9, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Ray starring Jamie Foxx

I was impressed with Jamie Foxx, whom I am not a fan of and the movie's ability to not only keep me engaged for more than 2 hours but to also keep 3 teenagers (12, 14, 14 years old) engaged for the entire length of the movie.

Reviewer: Chris Fahling of Saint Paul, MN (December 9, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Maybe not flawless, but very good

I really enjoyed this exploration of the life and music of Ray Charles. It was amazing how Jamie Foxx became the singer from the very beginning--even though the real person is so familiar to us from television. It's a well-rounded depiction, and many of the supporting roles have depth to them as well. It was one of the rare movies that I liked more than I expected to.

Reviewer: Robert Farlee of Minneapolis, MN (December 9, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

I'm a spoiler

Sorry, I can't agree with all these five stars reviews for Ray! Jamie Foxx is pretty amazing, but I found the psychology behind his character (a childhood drama) a little too simplistic. And in the end, I didn't the story that compelling.

Reviewer: stephanie curtis of st paul, MN (December 3, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Ray all the way!

This movie is a truthful not always rosie picture of a extraordinary talent. Jamie Fox is right on the money with his portrayal. Excellent movie!

Reviewer: Jane Brekken of Rochester, MN (November 30, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Great acting!

Jamie Foxx will undoubtedly get an Oscar nomination for his characterization of "The Genius." He appears to nail the role perfectly. Another positive aspect of this movie is that it doesn't shrink from portraying Charles' drug addiction and adulterous ways. Foxx lip synchs the songs and does a great job in a thoroughly enjoyable biopic.

Reviewer: Cole Carley of Fargo, ND (November 29, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Ray

For those of us in our 60's and grew up listening to Ray Charles this movie brings back good memories. I loved Ray Charles's music but knew nothing of his private life and this movie gives insight into why his music is so soulful.

Reviewer: jill schisano of crookston, MN (November 27, 2004)
Document E-mail this review

Document Return to the 2004 Holiday Movie Reviews page